Sydney TCR: Bright takes history-making win

Sydney TCR: Bright takes history-making win
May 18, 2019, 4:55 AM

Jason Bright is officially TCR Australia's maiden race winner thanks to a well-crafted performance at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Starting second, Volkswagen driver Bright out-dragged pole sitter Tony D'Alberto on the long run to the first corner.

From there it was a simple case of sprinting from the chasing pack, Bright pulling a second on the field inside the first handful of laps.

By Lap 10 of 16 the gap was well over two seconds, Bright's caused helped further by D'Alberto and Will Brown's race-long scrap over second place.

In the end, the Bathurst 1000 winner was able to cruise home by 2.1s.

"That feels awesome," said Bright.

"I lot of hard work went into the last couple of weeks to get these Volkswagens ready.

"The car was awesome, great start and it looked after its tyres really well. That race was a bit of an unknown, we didn't know who was going to be coming at us. I thought if Will got past Tony he might have come at us, so I was just trying to maintain that gap."

D'Alberto finished second after coming out on top of his battle with Brown. It was pulling a small gap with five laps to go that made the difference, the factory-backed Honda driver giving himself just enough breathing space to get to the line 1.1s ahead.

Alfa driver Dylan O'Keeffe played himself into the fight for the podium in the closing stages of the race, but ultimately had to settle for fourth, 0.2s behind Brown.

Audi driver Rik Breukers finished fifth, followed by John Martin (Wall Honda) and Aaron Cameron (Melbourne Performance Centre VW).

Hyundai driver Nathan Morcom slipped back to eighth in the closing stages, having been battling Breukers for fifth with two laps to go.

Chris Pither (Garry Rogers Motorsport Renault) and Andre Heimgartner (Kelly Racing Subaru) rounded out the Top 10.

Supercars race winner James Moffat didn't even make the start of the race, thanks to his Garry Rogers Motorsport Renault dumping its oil on the formation lap.

His Megane had to be towed off the grid and didn't reappear at any stage during the race.

Next article
Sydney TCR: D'Alberto becomes first Aussie series polesitter

Previous article

Sydney TCR: D'Alberto becomes first Aussie series polesitter

Next article

Bathurst champ Bright reflects on first win in five years

Bathurst champ Bright reflects on first win in five years
Load comments

About this article

Series TCR , TCR Australia
Event Sydney
Author Andrew van Leeuwen
Be first to get
breaking news